How do I downgrade my hosting account?

You may downgrade your account at any time (move from your current HostGator plan to a cheaper HostGator plan). There is no contract to keep you in your plan, though we do require you to move your own data to your new account when you downgrade.

Important Note about Downgrading

Do not change your name servers or cancel your current plan until your new plan is fully set up and propagated; this will reduce downtime and ensure that all content is transferred.

Shared to Shared or Reseller to Reseller

To request a downgrade of your Shared Hosting Plan, please contact us via phone or Live Chat so that we can further assist! There may be a $10 downgrade fee

Reseller to Shared

Because Shared and Reseller plans are hosted on different servers, you do not need to use the online form. Since a server move is required, you will need to purchase a new Shared account, move your data over, propagate your name servers and then cancel the old Reseller account.

VPS to VPS

To request a downgrade of your VPS Hosting, please contact us via phone or Live Chat so that we can further assist!

VPS to non-VPS

Because VPS, Reseller and Shared plans are hosted on different servers, when you downgrade from VPS to Reseller or Shared, you cannot use the downgrade form on our website. Since a server move is required, you must purchase the new plan, move your data over, propagate your name servers and then cancel the old plan.

Dedicated to Any Type of Account

When you downgrade from (or to) a Dedicated Server, you cannot use the downgrade form on our website. Since this process will require a server move, you must purchase the new server or plan, move your data over, propagate your name servers and then cancel the old plan.

If you need help moving data and do not qualify for the free content transfer service, our transfer team can provide a quote for the work. To request a quote, simply contact us via phone or Live Chat for assistance.