How Do I Upgrade My Account to a Better Plan?

You may upgrade at any time. There is no contract to keep you in your plan.

The steps you will take to upgrade depend on your current hosting package and to which plan you wish to upgrade. Please select the account you wish to upgrade to for more information on upgrades for that account type:


Shared & Reseller

There are several options for how to upgrade your Shared (Hatchling, Baby, or Business plan) or Reseller account. Look below for the type of upgrade you wish to perform:

Shared Web Hosting to Shared Web Hosting

If you are upgrading to a Business account from a Hatchling or Baby account, or to a Baby account from a Hatchling account, you can now do this immediately from inside of your billing portal. To do so:

  1. Log into your Billing Portal.
  2. Click the Packages icon from the menu bar.
  3. Click the Upgrade button to the right of the package you wish to upgrade.
  4. Select the plan you wish to upgrade to from the dropdown box.
  5. Place a checkmark to agree to our Terms of Service, Cancellation Policy, and Privacy Policy.
  6. Click the Change Plan Now button.

After you upgrade, a pro-rated invoice will be generated that you may then pay. The following article provides more information about how to make a payment:

Shared Web Hosting to Reseller Hosting

To upgrade, please submit your request using our upgrade form. This request is a ticket, and all tickets will be addressed in the order in which they are received.

You will be billed a prorated amount for the remainder of the month at the time of the upgrade.

Example: If you currently pay $9.95 a month for the Baby plan and want to upgrade to the Business plan, which is $14.95 a month, that is a $5 per month difference. If you were half way into your billing cycle, you would only be billed $2.50 for the new plan for the current month. You will be billed the full $14.95 next month.

*Additional Notes about Upgrading from Shared to Reseller

When upgrading from a Shared plan to a Reseller plan, we will move the account with the addon domains intact. We can convert up to 30 addon domains into individual cPanel accounts upon request. To request this service, please fill out our transfers form to request this. Be sure to specify which addon domains you want converted into their own cPanel in the "Instructions" section.

For more details about our transfers policy, please read about HostGator Website Transfers.  This type of transfer is considered an inter-server transfer or inter-server upgrade.

You will need to cancel the previous server after your content and domain are pointed to the new server.

Reseller Hosting to Reseller Hosting

If you are upgrading your Reseller account to another Reseller account with more resources, you can do so immediately with our automatic upgrade form. To do so:

  1. Log into your Billing Portal.
  2. Click the Packages icon from the menu bar.
  3. Click the Upgrade button to the right of the package you wish to upgrade.
  4. Select the plan you wish to upgrade to from the dropdown box.
  5. Place a checkmark to agree to our Terms of Service, Cancellation Policy, and Privacy Policy.
  6. Click the Change Plan Now button.

After you upgrade, a pro-rated invoice will be generated that you may then pay. The following article provides more information about how to make a payment:

To Shared or Reseller from Other Package Types

This requires purchasing the new hosting package and transferring your content to the new package by requesting a migration. See the following article for more information about HostGator website transfers:


Cloud Sites

To Cloud Hosting from Other Package Types: This requires a server migration. You will need to first order the new Cloud Site package, then migrate your content to the new server.

The following links will assist you with purchasing a Cloud Sites package and provide information about requesting HostGator migration services:

You will need to cancel the previous server after your content and domain are pointed to the new server.

Upgrades for Existing Cloud Sites Accounts: If you already have a Cloud Hosting package, you can upgrade your CPU, RAM, or your package without changing servers directly from your Cloud Hosting Dashboard:


Optimized WordPress

To Optimized WordPress from Other Hosting Types: This upgrade is a migration to a new platform and you will need to first buy the Optimized WordPress account, then us our transfer form to request a transfer:

HostGator will only transfer WordPress sites into Optimized WordPress for you. If your site is not created in WordPress you will need to create a new site. The following article contains more information regarding Optimized WordPress transfers:

You will need to cancel the previous server after your content and domain are pointed to the new server.

Upgrade Optimized WordPress Plan: If you already own an Optimized WordPress account and wish to increase the number of installations for your package, please contact support to be assisted with an upgrade.


Windows Shared to Windows Shared

Please contact support to be assisted with an upgrade.


VPS

Other Hosting to VPS: You cannot use any upgrade form if you wish to upgrade to a VPS from any other type of server. To upgrade to a VPS from another type of hosting, you will need to first order a VPS, then request a transfer to migrate to it.

The links below will assist you with purchasing a new VPS account and requesting us to migrate your content:

You will need to cancel the previous server after your content and domain are pointed to the new server.

VPS to VPS: To upgrade a VPS to a higher level of VPS, please submit your request using our upgrade form. This request is a ticket, and all tickets will be addressed in the order in which they are received.

Please contact our billing department via phone or Live Chat to modify settings but stay on the same VPS Level. If you are adding cPanel to your VPS, we leave the old container active so you can transfer files to the new container. You must cancel the old container when you are finished with the transfer process.


Dedicated Servers

You cannot use the upgrade form if you wish to upgrade to a dedicated server, or from one dedicated server to another. Instead, please order the new dedicated server online, request your free content transfers, change the DNS for your domains and then close the old hosting account.


Remember: Do NOT cancel your hosting accounts until you have changed DNS and thoroughly inspected your site to ensure everything was transferred properly. The last step will always be to cancel the old hosting accounts.